Winners revealed at IFCR Awards 2015 gala ball

The 10th annual Ireland’s Forecourt & Convenience Retailer Awards took place on Friday evening, September 11, when Applegreen MSA, Lusk Northbound took home two of the coveted awards, including the night’s big win, Forecourt of the Year.

Earlier in the evening, the Lusk Northbound had also been awarded Forecourt of the Year (category three).

It was a memorable night too for Supermacs chief, Pat ‘Mighty Mac’ McDonagh, who received the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award for his work in the retailing industry, which has spanned more than three decades.

He said afterwards: “We’re delighted. It’s a great honour to accept this award, not just for ourselves, but for the whole team at Supermacs. Starting off 37 years ago, this award was far away from our imagination.”

The sparkling gala event was held at the Ballsbridge Hotel, Dublin, and hosted for the second consecutive year by RTE’s Miriam O’Callaghan. Guests revelled in the excitement as winners were announced in 15 categories.

This year’s IFCR Awards saw more than 400 individual entries from right across Ireland and independent retailers, symbol groups and oil companies were among the finalists at the gala event.

Returning as charity partner, also for the second year, was the Irish Grocers’ Benevolent Fund, who took home more than €4865.

Other unforgettable wins throughout the awards included Maxol, who took home Best Oil Company Initiative for its ‘Moreish’ campaign and Eurospar Ladas Drive in Belfast, who were awarded Green Store of the Year.

Ger Coughlan from Maxol Mace West End, Ballincollig, Co. Cork was presented with the title of Store Manager of the Year.

He said afterwards: “It’s fantastic, I’m absolutely thrilled to win it. We’re really very proud.”

Our main picture above shows Pat and Una McDonagh (centre) from Barack Obama Plaza – Pat accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award at Friday night’s event – included are (from left) Wynn Penton, event organiser; Miriam O’Callaghan, compere and Bill Penton, event organiser.


Pictued with his award for Forecourt of the Year (category 1) is Brian Mooney (left), licensee at Top Oil Park Road, and general manager, Shane Doyle.
Shown with the Best Customer Service award is Jarlath O’Dyer (right), marketing manager with Supermacs on behalf of Barak Obama Plaza. Included is Eddie Scaife from category sponsor, Bord Na Mona Fuels.
Accepting their trophy for Training Initiative of the Year are (from left), Stephen Swift and Darren Given of Swifts Eurospar, Lisnaskea, and Gerry Scully, managing director of category sponsor, MTS Security.
Pictured accepting the award for Forecourt of the Year (category 2) is Alex Sinicins (left) from Topaz Dublin Airport. Included is Damien Emerson, commercial director of category sponsor, Station Master.
Ger Coughlan of Maxol/Mace, West End Ballincollig in Co. Cork, is shown receiving his award from Pearl Clarke of category sponsor, PostPoint.
Topaz Manor Stone was the winner in the Newcomer of the Year category. Shown here are (from left), Patrick Fleming, Felicity Deegan and Gillian Coogan from the site with Jim Giles of category sponsor, Nestle Professional.
Pictured with his winner’s plaque is Alan Caldwell on behalf of Green Store of the Year, Eurospar Ladas Drive, Belfast. Included is Patrick Foan of category sponsor, business solutions advisor, Fairbanks.
Pat McDonagh of Barak Obama Plaza is shown accepting his trophy from category sponsor, Dessie Aughey of Air Serv Ireland. Included is (from left), Noel Killeen and Sinead Kennedy of event partner, the Sunday Business Post and (right), Bill Penton, event organiser.
Davy McClane (centre) of Applegreen MSA Lusk is pictured with his award after winning Forecourt of the Year (category 3). Included is (left), Gerry Galvin of category sponsor, Tokheim and (right), Aurimas Ruskys from Applegreen MSA Lusk.
The Best Site with a Licence to Sell Alcohol was Lilley’s Centra, Enniskillen. Pictured (from left) are Alison Smith and Shane and Una O’Callaghan; Ronan O’Neill from category sponsor, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard and Vera Bogue.
Karen Kelly (left), from Newcastle Filling Station accepts her plaque as winner of Best Use of Category Management from Gerry Margolis of sponsor, Philip Morris. Included is Sigita Gaidaus Kaite, also from Newcastle Service Station.
Aaron and Grainne MacHale show off their plaque for Best Forecourt Facilities, which went to Junction 4 Turvey. Included is Anthony Carey from category sponsor, Photo Me Ireland.
The winner of the Best Oil Company Initiative was Maxol and included here are (from left), Dermot O’Toole and Jana Solovjova from the company and Michael Conroy of category sponsor, Costa Express Ireland. Also shown is Tom Noonan of Maxol.
Forecourt Retailer of the Year was Dave McClane of Applegreen MSA at Lusk (shown here second from right). Included are (from left), Mark Hargadon of category sponsor, Cuisine de France; Aurimas Ruskys from Applegreen MSA Lusk and Bill Penton, awards organiser.
Best Food to Go winner was Applegreen Mount Merrion. Shown here (centre) was Ajit Hravi and Karolis Jomikis with their plaque. Included is (left), Jim Whelan of category sponsor, Viessman Refrigeration and (right), Wynn Penton, event organiser.